NEW DELHI: Facebook-owned Instagram has rolled out a new feature which will enable users to restore the content that they have deleted in the last 30 days. The photo-sharing app has introduced the Recently Deleted feature which enables users to manage their content in a better way.
You can access the new feature from the settings menu in the app. Using this new feature you can restore photos, videos, reels and IGTV videos. The feature also allows Instagram users to restore their stories, but they will remain in the folder for 24 hours only. Instagram said that it introduced this feature on the basis of the user feedback.
In an official blog post Instagram said, “We also added protections to help prevent hackers from compromising your account and deleting posts you’ve shared. We know hackers sometimes delete content when they gain access to an account, and until now people had no way of easily getting their photos and videos back. Starting today, we will ask people to first verify that they are the rightful account holders when permanently deleting or restoring content from Recently Deleted.”
How it works
Photos, videos, reels, IGTV videos and stories you choose to delete are removed from your account immediately and moved to the Recently Deleted folder. Deleted stories that are not in your archive will stay in the folder for up to 24 hours. Everything else will be automatically deleted 30 days later.
During those 30 days, you can access your deleted content by going to Settings > Account > Recently Deleted on the latest version of the Instagram app. From there you can either restore or permanently delete it.