SRH vs KKR: Harbhajan Singh’s IPL journey continues at 40, makes debut for Kolkata Knight Riders

Veteran off-spinner Harbhajan Singh was handed his KKR debut cap ahead of Kolkata Knight Rider’s IPL 2021 opener against Sunrisers Hyderabad in Chennai on Sunday. The 40-year-old, who also played for Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians in the past, was bought by KKR for INR 2 crore earlier this year in the mini-auction.

Harbhajan will be returning to cricket after a span of nearly two years. His last appearance was for CSK in the IPL 2019 Final against Mumbai Indians on May 12, 2019 699 days ago. Harbhajan had made his Indian Premier League (IPL) debut against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) while playing for Mumbai Indians (MI) in the inaugural season.

Harbhajan’s tally of 150 wickets in IPL is the 5th most in the tournament after Lasith Malinga, Mishra (160), Chawla (156) and Dwayne Bravo (153). Harbhajan has been preferred over Sunil Narine or Kuldeep Yadav because he is well versed with the conditions at the Chepauk Stadium since he was with CSK for the past three years.

SRH vs KKR IPL 2021: Live Score and Updates

“I haven’t looked at the coach dynamic, but they have been magnificent in the background. We missed out narrowly last year with qualifying so we will try and go one better this time. Our four foreign players are Russell, Shakib, Cummins and myself (Morgan),” Eoin Morgan said at the toss ceremony.

Sunrisers Hyderabad win the toss and opt to bowl against Kolkata Knight Riders in Chennai. KKR picked Shakib al Hasan, Andre Russell, and Pat Cummins apart from skipper Eoin Morgan as their four foreign players in the match, while Narine was surprisingly left out.

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan(c), Dinesh Karthik(w), Andre Russell, Shakib Al Hasan, Pat Cummins, Harbhajan Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Varun Chakravarthy

Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): David Warner(c), Jonny Bairstow, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Manish Pandey, Vijay Shankar, Abdul Samad, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Sandeep Sharma

India Today

India Today is a weekly Indian English-language news magazine published by Living Media India Limited. It is the most widely circulated magazine in India, with a readership of close to 8 million. In 2014, India Today launched a new online opinion-orientated site called the DailyO.

Related Articles

Back to top button