Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan Join Test team Stars for Photoshoot Ahead of England T20Is

Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan Join Test team Stars for Photoshoot Ahead of England T20Is

New members have joined the likes of Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant and Axar Patel ahead of the five-match T20I series against England, starting on March 12 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Other members of the Indian team, who were not a part of the Test side, havejoined up with the Test squad a few days back and on Wednesday, some of them posed together for a fun photo.

Ahead of a series, there are always photoshoots which are a good place for fun and the Indian Cricket Team’s Instagram handle posted a photo from the same with the caption,”What headshots day looks like?”

India will be looking to carry the momentum gained from another comeback win in the Test series and pin England down in the T20I series in a World T20 year. The five T20Is against England will be India’s only chance to test their bench strength in the international arena as there are no other T20I series scheduled after this one. The Indian Premier League (IPL) remains the only T20 engagement for the players prior to the World T20scheduled to take place in India around October-November.

India will aim to test out their middle-order and opening combination with loads of options available for the same. With the return of Rishabh Pant in the side and addition of Suryakumar Yadav, who plays as a wicketkeeper and opens, the batting with Rohit Sharma will also be a question. In Pant’s absence, Rahul has been donning the gloves and playing middle-order while Shikhar Dhawan, when fit, opened the batting with Rohit. However, with Pant in scintillating form and Rahul doing well in given chances, who plays where remains to be seen.

Hardik Pandya will also be keen to return after missing out on the Tests against Australia and England while who plays along with Yuzvendra Chahal as a second spinner will also have to be seen. Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar and Rahul Tewatia all stand a chance to feature.

On the pace bowling front, Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be making a comeback and might well spearhead the attack in the absence of Jasprit Bumrah.

The first T20I will start at 19.00 IST on Friday.

India T20I squad vs England: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul (WK), Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ishan Kishan (WK), Yuzvendra Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Rahul Tewatia, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur


CNN-News18 is an Indian English-language news television channel founded by Rajdeep Sardesai located in Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India. It is currently owned by Network 18. CNN provides international coverage for the channel, while Indian Broadcasting Network concentrates on Indian and local reports.

Related Articles

Back to top button