IPL 2021: Eoin Morgan, bowlers help KKR snap losing streak after 5-wicket win against PBKS in Ahmedabad

A change in venue certainly brought a change in fortunes for Kolkata Knight Riders as Eoin Morgan’s men ended a 4-match losing streak in IPL 2021 with a 5-wicket win over Punjab Kings. Playing their first match of the season at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, Kolkata came up with an improved all-round showing to revive their campaign.

Kolkata Knight Riders had won their season-opener against Sunrisers Hyderabad in Chennai but they lost 4 on the bounce, including 2 at Chepauk and 2 in Mumbai. Just when their campaign was spiraling downwards, Eoin Morgan’s men lifted themselves up to outclass Punjab Kings at the new venue.

With captain Eoin Morgan leading from the front, hitting an unbeaten 47, Kolkata Knight Riders gunned down the target in just 16.4 overs.

IPL 2021, PBKS vs KKR: Highlights

Chasing a below-par total of 124 on Monday, Kolkata Knight Riders got off to a poor start with their top-order failing once again. While Nitish Rana fell for 0, Shubman Gill’s poor run continued as he was trapped LBW by Mohammed Shami for 9. The experiment to send Sunil Narine higher up the order failed yet again as the West Indies star departed for 0 after Ravi Bishnoi took what is being deemed as the ‘catch of IPL 2021‘.

Kolkata Knight Riders were reeling at 17 for 3 in the powerplay but captain Eoin Morgan and Rahul Tripathi came up with a counter-attacking display of batting. They put the pressure right back on Punjab Kings who did not have a lot to defend on Monday evening.

Eoin Morgan and Rahul Tripathi deliver for KKR

Morgan and Tripathi added 69 runs in just 48 balls as they played fearless cricket on a pitch that was becoming batsman-friendly because of the late evening drew. Tripathi hit a 32-ball 41, which included 7 boundaries as he put Kolkata in a comfortable spot before throwing his wicket away in the 11th over.

Andre Russell walked into bat as early as the 15th over but he departed for 10 after Ashdeep Singh affected a run-out with a direct hit.

KKR needed 25 runs in 35 balls when Russell walked back to the hut but captain Morgan made sure Kolkata reached the finish line without any further hiccups. Morgan remained unbeaten as he led from the front in a dominant display. It was a big knock for Morgan who had been struggling for runs in the new season.

Prasidh Krishna, spinners choke Punjab

Earlier in the day, Eoin Morgan was brilliant with his captaincy as he marshalled his troops wonderfully well. Young pacer Shivam Mavi got 4 overs on the trot and he choked the run flow in the powerplay. Punjab Kings lost KL Rahul and Chris Gayle in quick succession and never had any rhythm to their innings as Pat Cummins and Mavi struck crucial early blows.

Mayank Agarwal and Nicholas Pooran tried to rescue their innings after Deepak Hooda fell to Prasidh Krishna but Kolklata Knight Riders spinners Sunil Narine and Varun Chakravarthy never allowed the Punjab batsmen to get going.

Agarwal fell for a 32-ball 31 while Pooran departed for 14 as Chakravarthy and Narine struck in the middle-overs. All-rounder Moises Henriques was undone by Narine after which Shahrukh Khan tried to provide some late fireworks.

However, the Tamil Nadu big-hitter fell for 13 with Prasidh Krishna taking another crucial wicket. Thanks to a late cameo (18-ball 30) from Chris Jordan, Punjab Kings managed to post in excess of 100. Krishna picked up Jordan in the final over despite conceding two sixes to make sure Punjab did not make the most the of final burst.

India Today

India Today is a weekly Indian English-language news magazine published by Living Media India Limited. It is the most widely circulated magazine in India, with a readership of close to 8 million. In 2014, India Today launched a new online opinion-orientated site called the DailyO.

Related Articles

Back to top button