India opt to bat, hand debut to Meghna Singh; Australia leave out Ellyse Perry

Toss India Ladies selected to bat vs Australia Ladies

Harmanpreet Kaur referred to as appropriately and India opted to bat towards T20 and 50-over World Cup-holders Australia of their CWG 2022 Group A opener at Edgbaston.

That is India’s first T20I outing at Edgbaston, with Harmanpreet calling it a “good wicket, with circumstances prone to stay the identical all through”.

With Pooja Vastrakar unavailable on account of Covid-19, India handed a T20I debut to quick bowler Meghna Singh whereas saying a XI that solely had one different seamer in Renuka Singh. They went in with three spinners in Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Deepti Sharma and Radha Yadav.

In opposition to a full-strength Australia, in addition they most well-liked to play an additional batter at No. 6 in Harleen Deol, who additionally affords part-time spin, thereby resisting the temptation to play one other spin-bowling allrounder in Sneh Rana.

Australia too fielded three frontline spinners in Jess Jonassen, Alana King and Ash Gardner, whereas Darcie Brown and Megan Schutt fashioned the tempo assault. There was no place for star allrounder Ellyse Perry.

Australia are coming into the CWG on the again of a rain-affected tri-series towards Pakistan and Eire. They recorded two snug victories towards Eire, whereas their matches towards Pakistan had been washed out.

India are coming into the match on the again of a rigorous ten-day health and abilities camp in Bengaluru. Previous to that, they toured Sri Lanka, the place they gained each ODI and T20I sequence.

That is the primary time that ladies’s cricket has been included within the CWG. Pakistan and Barbados be a part of India and Australia to make up Group A. Group B includes England, South Africa, New Zealand and Sri Lanka. The highest two groups from every pool will qualify for the semi-finals.

Australia: 1 Alyssa Healy (wk), 2 Beth Mooney, 3 Meg Lanning (capt), 4 Tahlia McGrath, 5 Rachael Haynes, 6 Ashleigh Gardner, 7 Grace Harris, 8 Jess Jonassen, 9 Alana King, 10 Megan Schutt, 11 Darcie Brown

India: 1 Smriti Mandhana, 2 Shafali Verma, 3 Yastika Bhatia (wk), 4 Harmanpreet Kaur (capt), 5 Jemimah Rodrigues, 6 Harleen Deol, 7 Deepti Sharma, 8 Radha Yadav, 9 Rajeshwari Gayakwad, 10 Meghna Singh, 11 Renuka Singh

Shashank Kishore is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

www.Eagles Vine


ESPNcricinfo is a sports news website exclusively for the game of cricket. The site features news, articles, live coverage of cricket matches, and StatsGuru, a database of historical matches and players from the 18th century to the present. As of March 2018, Sambit Bal was the editor.

Related Articles

Back to top button