Dubey, Shubham, Patidar, bowlers fashion Madhya Pradesh’s maiden Ranji Trophy title

Madhya Pradesh 536 (Dubey 133, Patidar 122, Shubham 116, Mulani 5-173) and 108 for 4 (Mantri 37, Patidar 30*) beat Mumbai 374 (Sarfaraz 134, Jaiswal 78, Yadav 4-106) and 269 (Parkar 51, Sarfaraz 45, Kartikeya 4-98) by six wickets

Madhya Pradesh are the Ranji Trophy 2021-22 champions, 69 years after they final received the coveted trophy of their former avatar, as Holkar, and 23 years since they final had a shot at Indian home cricket’s largest prize. On the identical venue of their 1998-99 heartbreak, MP redeemed themselves in one of the best ways potential, vanquishing 41-time champions Mumbai to carry the trophy on a cloudy Sunday afternoon.
Victory was achieved shortly earlier than tea on the fifth day when Rajat Patidar pushed Sarfaraz Khan for a single broad of level as MP had transformed doubtlessly difficult 108 chase right into a cruise. Patidar, whose 122 helped arrange MP’s 162-run lead within the first innings, was 34 not out, together with Aditya Shrivastava, the captain.

Mumbai’s bowlers wanted to go for broke they usually struck gold early when Dhawal Kulkarni breached Yash Dubey’s protection within the third over to depart MP 4 for 1. The following half hour supplied an enticing passage with runs coming in a trickle. However MP hardly regarded below strain, calmly battling via the new-ball burst, and placing away the occasional boundary balls with the fields in to maintain tucking away on the runs.

As soon as set, the batters tried to go for the massive hits. This led to the dismissals of Himanshu Mantri and Parth Sahani, however there have been no extra twists in retailer. Patidar tantalized the group with some beautiful cowl drives to the all-familiar RCB chants.

Mumbai’s aspirations of setting a much bigger whole took a beating proper from the outset as they stored shedding wickets at common intervals, whilst MP restored to a line of defense of assault all morning. Their placers employed a large line – nearly sixth stump exterior off – with six fielders to guard the off-side boundary. In opposition to spin, particularly Kumar Kartikeya’s left-arm selection, they employed a leg-stump line with six fielders stationed on the leg aspect.
As such, the onus was on Mumbai to pressure the tempo. Suved Parkar, who made 252 on debut within the quarterfinals in opposition to Uttarakhand, made a half-century however fell quickly after Arman Jaffer was castled by a Gaurav Yadav slower supply. Mumbai misplaced two early and MP had been on the march.
Sarfaraz employed the sweep to good impact, and repeatedly stored peppering totally different elements of the leg-side boundary by hitting in opposition to the flip. He made 45 earlier than being the seventh wicket to fall when he holed out to deep backward sq. leg off left-arm spinner Sahani. He ended the season with 982 runs, 324 greater than second-placed Patidar.

After sweeping his technique to some helpful runs, Sarfaraz was out to the very shot that introduced him runs – sweeping from manner exterior off to search out the boundary rider. Mumbai’s final three hardly troubled the bowlers and had been rolled over shortly for 269, leaving MP greater than two periods to gnaw on the goal.

Once they got here out, MP banished early jitters to set the tone for some severe celebrations within the MP camp. After 5 days of sitting immobile within the dressing room, belting out directions via the twelfth man, Chandrakant Pandit, the person who sobbed pitch aspect after the 1998-99 heartbreak, had his second of redemption shortly earlier than tea. As for the remainder of the younger group led by Shrivastava, it was time for some celebrations as step one in direction of dominating the red-ball scene had been taken fairly emphatically.

www.Eagles Vine


ESPNcricinfo is a sports news website exclusively for the game of cricket. The site features news, articles, live coverage of cricket matches, and StatsGuru, a database of historical matches and players from the 18th century to the present. As of March 2018, Sambit Bal was the editor.

Related Articles

Back to top button