Callum Parkinson replaces Colin Ackermann as Leicestershire four-day captain

Ackermann has made simply 168 runs throughout 10 innings this summer season and has been changed as four-day captain, although will proceed in his function as T20 captain.

Parkinson was Leicestershire’s main wicket-taker in 2021 and has chipped in with the bat from the decrease order this yr; solely openers Hassan Azad and Sam Evans have scored extra runs than him in 2022.

“It’s a large honour to be appointed four-day captain and I am extremely grateful to the membership for putting that religion in me,” Parkinson mentioned. “Personally, I really feel I’ve matured massively over latest seasons and developed right into a participant that may assist information the membership to success.

“I’ve discovered a lot from Colin throughout my time as vice-captain. I’ll proceed to lean on him for recommendation, while implementing my very own concepts and path to win matches for Leicestershire.”

Claude Henderson, Leicestershire’s director of cricket, mentioned: “Firstly, we need to thank Ackers for main the workforce with nice delight and honour all through his time as four-day captain. He did a incredible job and can proceed to be an enormous participant for Leicestershire shifting ahead, the place he’ll stay as our T20 captain.

“We have now determined that now could be the best time for a change and recognised Callum’s qualities are ideally suited to main the workforce in four-day cricket for the rest of the season. Callum has been an inspiring voice within the altering room, and he instructions large respect by way of the way in which he approaches his cricket. We have now full perception that he’s the best man to take up the function.”

Lewis Hill will proceed as 50-over captain in the course of the Royal London Cup.

www.Eagles Vine


ESPNcricinfo is a sports news website exclusively for the game of cricket. The site features news, articles, live coverage of cricket matches, and StatsGuru, a database of historical matches and players from the 18th century to the present. As of March 2018, Sambit Bal was the editor.

Related Articles

Back to top button