All England Open 2021 draw: PV Sindhu to kick off her campaign vs Soniia Cheah, P Kashyap to face Kento Momota

Indian badminton couple Saina Nehwal and Parupalli Kashyap have been handed a challenging draw at the prestigious All England Open which is scheduled to start on March 17 in Birmingham.

PV Sindhu has a relatively easier draw at All England Open. (AP Photo)

PV Sindhu has a relatively easier draw at All England Open. (AP Photo)


  • Badminton World Federation (BWF) released the draw for All England Open
  • PV Sindhu to kick off All England Open campaign against Soniia Cheah
  • Parupalli Kashyap to face top-seeded Kento Momota

The Badminton World Federation (BWF) on Tuesday released the draw for the prestigious All England Open and world Champion PV Sindhu will kick off her campaign in the women’s singles against Malaysia’s Soniia Cheah. Sindhu could face Japan’s Akane Yamaguchi in the quarter-finals and old rival Carolina Marin in the semis.

On the other hand, badminton couple Saina Nehwal and Parupalli Kashyap will face a challenging draw at the All England Open starting March 17. Kashyap will face world No. 1 Japanese Kento Momota while Saina will take on the in-form Mia Blichfeldt of Denmark in the first round of the women’s singles.

In the men’s singles, Kidambi Srikanth is drawn against a formidable foe in Indonesia’s Tommy Sugiarto in the opening round while world championships bronze medallist B Sai Praneeth takes on Toma Junior Popov of France.

All England Open 2021 draw for Indian badminton players
Women’s Singles

PV Sindhu vs Soniia Cheah (Malaysia)

Saina Nehwal vs Mia Blichfeldt (Denmark)

Men’s Singles

Kidambi Srikanth vs Tommy Sugiarto (Indonesia)

Parupalli Kashyap vs Kento Momota (Japan)

Lakshya Sen vs Kantaphon Wangcharoen (Thailand)

HS Prannoy vs Liew Daren (Malaysia)

Sameer Verma vs Ygor Coelho (Brazil)

B Sai Praneeth vs Toma Junior Popov (France)

Men’s Doubles

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty vs Eloi Adam/Julien Maio (France)

MR Arjun/Dhruv Kapila vs Ong Yew Sin/Teo Ee Yi (Malaysia)

Women’s Doubles

Ashwini Ponnappa/ N Sikki Reddy vs Benyapa Aimsaard/Nuntakarn Aimsaard (Thailand)

Meghana Jakkampudi/Poorvisha Ram vs Alexandre Boje/Mette Poulsen (Denmark)

Ashwini Bhat/Shikha Gautam vs Chloe Birch/Lauren Smith (England)

Mixed Doubles

Dhruv Kapila/Meghana Jakkampudi vs Praveen Jordan/Melati Oktavianti (Indonesia)

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/ Ashwini Ponnappa vs Yuki Kaneko/Misaki Matsutomo (Japan)

Pranaav Jerry Chopra/ N Sikki Reddy vs Max Flynn/Jessica Pugh (England)

India Today

India Today is a weekly Indian English-language news magazine published by Living Media India Limited. It is the most widely circulated magazine in India, with a readership of close to 8 million. In 2014, India Today launched a new online opinion-orientated site called the DailyO.

Related Articles

Back to top button