Padma Award 2021 winning authors you should know about – Eagles Vine

The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian awards of India. They are mainly conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The awards are given to people in various disciplines or fields of activities including art, social work, literature and education, sports, trade and industry, and many more. It is on the basis of the recommendations of an Awards Committee, and after approval of the Home Minister, Prime Minister and President, that the Padma Awards are announced on the eve of the Republic Day.

This year, a total of 119 Padma awardees were announced on Jan 26. The list comprises of many names from various domains, many of them belonging to the field of literature and education. Here is a look at authors who were conferred with the Padma Awards 2021.

1. Chandrashekhar Kambara
Kambara is a prominent Indian poet, playwright, folklorist, and film director in Kannada language. His works revolve around folk or mythology interlinked with contemporary issues. He has also been conferred with the Sahitya Akademi Award, Padma Shri, Jnanpith Award, etc.

2. Prakasarao Asavadi
An Indian poet, critic, translator and scholar, Prakasarao is known for his poetry and prose works. He is celebrated for his noteworthy contribution to Telugu and Sanskrit literature. He has given 170 performances and has written and published 50 books across various genres.

3. Srikant Datar
An Indian American economist, Datar is the 11th dean of Harvard Business School. His research interests include cost management, measurement of productivity, new product development, innovation, time-based competition, incentives, and performance evaluation.

4. Mangal Singh Hazowary
He is an Indian Bodo language poet. Bodo is a Sino-Tibetan language spoken mainly by the Boro people of Northeast India, Nepal and Bengal. He is also a recipient of Sahitya Akademi Award for his poetry “Ziuni Mwkthang Bisombi Arw Aroj” in 2005.

5. Rangasami Lakshminarayana Kashyap
An Indian applied mathematician and a Professor of Electrical Engineering, Kashyap is famed for developing the ‘Ho-Kashyap rule’. He has translated all the four Vedas, and also penned several books revolving around the hidden meanings behind the Vedic Mantras.

6. Imran Shah
Shah is an Assamese writer, poet, novelist, and scholar. His novel ‘Jabanbandi’ was broadcast as a radio-recitation by Akaashvani, Dibrugarh. In addition, the Assamese film ‘Rasmirekha’, is based on his novel, Rajanigandha.

7. Usha Yadav
An Agra based author, Usha Yadav has authored more than 100 books. Among them, the children’s literature books are most appreciated.

The Times of India

The Times of India is an Indian English-language daily newspaper and digital news media owned and managed by The Times Group. According to Audit Bureau of Circulations, it is ranked 9th in the world by circulation and 3rd in India.

Related Articles

Back to top button